Jagatsinghpur Town is the District Head Quarter of Jagatsinghpur District. Jagatsinghpur District is one of the thirty districts of Odisha in the eastern coast of India. It became a new district on 1st April 1993 (Vide Government Notification No.14218/R dated 27.03.1993 and EOG No.459 dated 01.04.1993) being separated from Cuttack district. Jagatsinghpur Town is one amongst the emerging business hub for Eastern part of the state. Paradip Port, Oil refinery and fertilizer factory are located in Jagatsinghpur district. Devi, Alaka, Biluakhai, Kusumi, Hansua, Kuanria and Lunijhara rivers belong to this district.

The main sources of revenue generated by Jagatsinghpur Municipality are from holding tax, latrine tax, light tax, profession tax, taxes on carts and carriages and rent from trade and shop rooms and water tax besides government grants and loans. The local bodies look into the public health and sanitation of Jagatsinghpur town, provide street lights and maintain drains and roads. They also maintain schools, frame their own bye-laws like advertisement bye-laws, etc. The day-to-day administration was looked after by the Executive Officer.

The Jagatsinghpur town is divided into 21 wards. The Jagatsinghpur Municipality has established within an area of 18.25 sq.kms with population of Appx. 33,000 of as per 2011 census report. In Jagatsinghpur Municipality, Female Sex Ratio is of 951 against state average of 979. Moreover, Child Sex Ratio in Jagatsinghpur is around 961 compared to Odisha state average of 941. Literacy rate of Jagatsinghpur city is 89.32% higher than state average of 72.87%. In Jagatsinghpur, Male literacy is around 93.45% while female literacy rate is 84.98%.The total length of the road under the Municipality is of 136.51 KM. The length of the drainage under the Municipality is 8.600 KM.

Details of Roads Status of Jagatsinghpur Municipality Road

1. Black Metal Road 43.262 KM
2. Hard granite 2.16 KM
3. Spall Moorum 43.864 KM
4. Cement Concrete Road 16.55 KM
5. Earthen Road 30.675 KM